Sunday, March 24, 2013

Next Wave: The Woken Trees

The Woken Trees was formed in 2010. The band members, however, have known each other since their early teens as they all grew up together in a community around the desolate village, Tversted, in the north of Denmark. In 2010 the line up was completed with the 6th member, Mathias Riis. And what was now a 6-piece moved to Sealand where they overtook an abandoned, trashed-out villa outside Copenhagen. At this point their music began to change dramatically into something much more noisy, more dark.  
After the writing of a small handful of songs their debut album began to take shape. Entitled 'NNON', the album was written in 2011/2012 and recorded by the end of 1st half of 2012. In the summer 2012 the band signed with Pad & Pen Records and the mixing and mastering began. October 2012, the single "Yells" B/W Holy Water was released which is now followed up by the full album co-released by Fuzz Club Records and Pad & Pen Records on March 11, 2013.

Retrovision: Orange Juice- Rip it Up

Orange Juice released "Rip it Up" thirty years ago in March 1983. The song reached number #8 in the UK charts and remained among the top selling songs Orange Juice have released. Good news is that Domino Records will be releasing a comprehensive seven-disc anthology which will include their entire studio recordings, live sessions and a DVD with videos and concert footage. In total, 'Coals To Newcastle' contains 16 previously unreleased tracks with another 23 tracks previously unavailable on earlier re-issues and it will be released on November 8th (UK) and November 9th (US).


Friday, March 22, 2013

Midge Ure's Greatest Hits to be Released on a 2CD Compilation The Works

Demon Music Group have announced the release of a brand new Best of compilation by Midge Ure. Midge Ure fronted Ultravox in the new Romantic Eighties – but his career, whether guesting for Thin Lizzy and Visage, getting Band Aid up and running with Bob Geldof or a string of superb solo albums, amounts to much more. This in-depth look at those solo releases runs from Eighties chart-topper ‘If I Was’ through Nineties big-seller ‘Breathe’ and also includes extended and live versions of songs.


Simple Minds Announce November Tour with Special Guest Ultravox

Ultravox are proud to announce a series of joint shows with great friends Simple Minds in November 2013. The four UK arena shows will see the band sharing the bill for the first time in the UK after parallel careers spanning 30+ years. Tickets on sale from Weds March 20th. Also imminent is an HD, live concert from Ultravox's European tour in October 2012. This multi camera shoot will be available on Blu ray as well as DVD. A release date is yet to be finalised but it is planned to be released mid to late summer to coincide with the November shows.

Tuesday, March 19, 2013

Das Kabinette- Spy Thriller 2013 Reissue

Due to popular demand, Minimal Wave Records have decided to do a limited repress of Blackpool's band Das Kabinette release 'Spy Thriller'. They were known mainly for their underground hit "The Cabinet" which was originally released as a 7” single in 1983. This track and a couple of unreleased tracks were then released in January 2008 as 'Spy Thriller'. The record sold out quickly soon after. 
The new repress of 'Spy Thriller' comes on 180 gram ultra clear vinyl, limited to 500 hand numbered copies complete with a heavy weight die-cut matte jacket, with a printed inner sleeve which shows through the window. Lyrics included on the inner sleeve. Vinyl will be available in early March 2013. Digital release to follow.


Thursday, March 14, 2013

Pet Shop Boys Announce New Album on a New Label

Pet Shop Boys have left Parlophone Records after a ground-breaking 28 years and have signed their forthcoming studio album “Electric” to Kobalt Label Services in a global deal. Their new album “Electric” is produced by Stuart Price and will be released in June 2013. Further information about the album will be announced soon. Kobalt Label Service’s first international album release, “Push The Sky Away” by Nick Cave & the Bad Seeds recently debuted at number one in seven countries and top four in thirteen other countries.


Soft Riot- No Longer Stranger LP Announced

Soft Riot is Jack Duckworth, a former Vancouverite now living in London who traces his musical beginnings to the vibrant underground art-punk/hardcore scene emergent across the Canadian and American west coasts in the mid-90s. Duckworth was among the fixtures in that community’s northern outpost before helping to consolidate the early outpourings of a larger pre-“synth/new-wave” revival with his band Radio Berlin alongside others like Black Mountain, Wolf Parade, Frog Eyes, etc, though his output has shifted at least a few degrees from that older sound. 
His move to London is at the heart of his ongoing personal maintenance; the new atmosphere and cultural dynamic giving fuel to Soft Riot, previously just a concept. Originally released as a shorter EP on Vancouver imprint Panospria, 'No Longer Stranger' has been expanded by the addition of two re-recorded contemporaneous tracks into an eight song LP for its appearance on San Diego’s Volar Records. 'No Longer Stranger' is not late night club music, but the soundtrack to dimly lit rooms and dark street corners. Its futurist outlook is paired expertly with his well-explored interest in film, making for a uniquely cinematic listening experience. Pulsating synths add layers of drama while less menacing, semi-ambivalent vocals narrate the sonic experience.
Coming later in spring, Soft Riot is releasing an album of all new material entitled 'Fiction Prediction' via Other Voices in Europe and Volar in the US. Duckworth has a track along with Linea Aspera, Mild Peril, Női Kabát and others on the recently released and highly anticipated 'And You Will Find Them In The Basement 12”' from Desire Records.

Saturday, March 9, 2013

Next Wave: Exotic Club

Exotic Club is an electronic dance duo consisting of Simon Lowzy and Rémi Rose. Since 2010, Simon and Rémi have been travelling back and forth from their home town of Paris, France to their new residence of choice Portland. Exotic Club's goal is to make noisy, synth infused, dance tracks that embraces the cryptic irony of pop in favor of a darkly dangerous apathy. Their style melds the energy of post-punk, the experimental aspects of noise, the raw emotion of dark disco and cold wave, and the primal rage of punk and rap core.
They are currently engaged in the production of a series of singles and music videos. The previous release Memories, a 2 track mini EP, was released on Romance Moderne, a Belgian label based in Brussels. Their latest track "Stars, Asteroïds, Moons and Comets" was recently premiered on Soundcloud and there is certainly more to come.

Billy Mackenzie's Outernational Reissue on March 25th

Cheery Red Records have announced the reissue of 'Outernational', the first solo album by Billy Mackenzie which was released in 1992. The CD reissue features the ten tracks of the original album release and four bonus tracks including mixes/remixes of "Colours Will Come - US 60659 Mix" by Larry Heard, "Feels Like The Richtergroove" by Mike Koglin, "Look What You've Done - Marital Mix" and the beautiful "Because You Love". The CD booklet features an expanded version of the original artwork and includes a detailed UK discography and sleeve notes. 
The release date is March 25th.

Monday, March 4, 2013

Retrovision: The Stranglers- Midnight Summer Dream

Thirty years ago, the Stranglers released "Midnight Summer Dream". It was the second single that was taken from their seventh studio album 'Feline'. The song was released as a 7" remix version and reached number #35 in the UK charts.