Saturday, February 21, 2015

The Names Announce New Album for May

Factory Benelux have announced the release of 'Stranger Than You', the fourth studio album by Belgian post-punk outfit The Names. Having previously been associated with Factory Records and producer Martin Hannett, this album, as it is reported, sees the Names return to their original sound and the styles explored on their debut album 'Swimming'. Singer/songwriter Michel Sordinia and guitarist Marc Deprez are joined by new members Laurent Loddewyckx (drums) and Christophe Boulenger (keyboards and piano). The album is set for release on May 18th, 2015. 

Thursday, February 19, 2015

Roxy Music Box Set with Complete Studio Recording out in March

Roxy Music have announced the release of Roxy Music box set which will include the complete studio recordings from 1972-1982. This 10 CD deluxe box set will feature all eight Roxy Music studio albums and every single they released. The audio has been flat-transfered from the original master recordings – so it sounds as the band intended it to. These iconic albums are housed in rigid gatefold style sleeves – mimicking the original vinyl releases. The compilation is set for release on March 16th.

Saturday, February 14, 2015

Eternal Death's Debut Album out this Month

Eternal Death will release their self-titled debut album this month. You will probably remember them by the song "Head" which was released a year ago and which we played and played. Several singles followed through out the year and finally it comes in one package and will be released by the Swedish indie label Labrador Records.The official release date is set for February 24th.

Friday, February 13, 2015

Steve Strange (1959-2015)

“We are extremely saddened to announce that Steve Strange died at 11.15 local time on Thursday 12th February, in Sharm El Sheik International Hospital, Egypt. Steve died in his sleep, of Heart Failure. Steve’s family, band members and friends are all distraught at this sudden news of his untimely death. Steve’s family request privacy at this extremely difficult time.” 

 This is the official statement form Visage's Facebook page.

 It is really sad news to hear of Steve Strange's passing away. It seems the world has lost its true New Romantic. He certainly will be remembered as the pivotal figure in the New Romantic movement, The Blitz Kids spirit and the great music of Visage. Thanks for the avant-garde, the glamour and the weirdness.

"One man on a lonely platform
One case sitting by his side..."

 Rest in Peace

And here the rare version on "Fade to Grey"...

Wednesday, February 11, 2015

WAW: The Soft Moon- Far

The Soft Moon have announced the release of their third album earlier this year. The album is entitled 'Deeper' and it will officially released on March 31st. As a warm up, here comes the first single/video release from the album. It's for the song "Far" and Powell Robinson was responsible for cienematography this time.


Tuesday, February 10, 2015

Retrovision: Cristina- Ticket to the Tropics

"Ticket to the Tropics" was the last single release for Cristina Monet-Palaci who recorded under the name Cristina. She released two albums and several singles in the first half of the decade. Her music was related to disco, funk and no wave and she certainly is one of the most underrated New wave stars. "Ticket to the Tropics" was released in 1984 and the video for the song is considered extremely rare. Thanks dear youtuber who shared this.

Sunday, February 8, 2015

Next Wave: Viet Cong

Viet Cong is a Calgary based indie rock band from Canada. The group consists of two ex-members of the rock band Women, vocalist/bassist Matt Flegel and drummer Mike Wallace, as well as guitarists Scott Munro and Daniel Christiansen and it was formed around 2012. To this date they have released two EPs and two singles and this year finally they released their much anticipated self titled debut album which certainly is one of the top albums this year. Their musical style is described as Labyrinth post-punk and combines various influences and reflects in various music styles. Viet Cong invent new Post-punk instead making another Post-Punk revival. 

Friday, February 6, 2015

Lebanon Hanover- Beside the Abyss

Lebanon Hanover have announced the release of a brand new studio album entitled 'Beside the Abyss'. This will be their fourth album in three years. It has been written and performed by Larissa Iceglass and William Maybelline in Athens, May 2013 and it is produced by Chris Manolitsis. As it is announced the album will also feature guest musicians. The official release date is late February, early March.

Dimension Gondry: Massive Attack- Protection

Released in 1995 as the third single to be taken from the album of the same name. As you know this song featured Tracey Thorn from Everything but the Girl on vocals. It was the essence of trip hop with a loping breakbeat, guitar samples and angst-ridden female vocals. Like the previous videos, this one was also masterfully directed by Michael Gondry.

Monday, February 2, 2015

Gang of Four's New Album 'What Happens Next' out this Month

Following the release of 'Content' and some line up changes from few years ago. Gang of Four will release their eighth studio album entitled 'What Happens Next' this month. The album features a number of guest vocalists and instrumentalists, including Big Pink’s Robbie Furze, Japanese guitarist Hotei, and German singer Herbert Grönemeyer. The most notable guest, however, is Alison Mosshart, who appears on several album tracks, including lead single “Broken Talk”. 'What Happens Next' will be out on February 24th via Metropolis Records.