Tuesday, December 28, 2010

Top 20 Singles- Readers' List- 1980

1.Joy Division- Love Will Tear Us Apart 
2.Visage- Fade to Grey 
3.Orchestral Manouvers in the Dark- Enola Gay 
4.Joy Division- Atmosphere 
5.David Bowie- Ashes to Ashes 
 6.The Cure- A Forest 
7.The Jam- Going Underground 
8.Blondie- Atomic 
9.John Foxx- Underpass 
10.Siouxsie and the Banshees- Happy House 
11.Peter Gabriel- Games Without The Frontiers 
12.Devo- Whip It 
13.Martha and The Muffins- Echo Beach
14.Spandau Ballet- To Cut A Long Story Short 
15.Ultravox- Passing Strangers 
16.Echo and The Bunnymen- Rescue 
17.Gary Numan- We Are Glass 
18.Kate Bush- Babooska 
19.The Human League- Only After Dark 
20.John Foxx- No One Driving

Friday, December 24, 2010

Best of 2010- The Album List

1.Groove Armada- Black Light
2.Get Well Soon- Vexations
3.Ariel Pink's Haunted Graffiti- Before Today
4.Twin Shadow- Forget
5.Janelle Monáe- The ArchAndroid
6.Future Islands- In Evening Air
7.Belle And Sebastian- Write about Love
8.Yeasayer- Odd Blood
9.Brendan Perry- Ark
10.LCD Soundsystem- This is Happening
11.The National- High Violet
12.The Radio Dept- Clinging To A Scheme
13.Automelodi- Automelodi
14.Villa Nah- Origin
15.OMD The History of Modern
16.Deerhunter- Halycon Digest
17.Clinic- Bubblegum
18.Sambassadeur- European
19.Alphaville- Catching Rays on Giant
20.Delphic- Acolyte
21.Veil Veil Vanish- Change in the Neon Light
22.Andy Bell- Non Stop
23.Manic Street Preachers- Postcards from the Young Man
24.Northern Portrait- Criminal Art Lovers
25.Broken Bells- s/t
26.Devo- Something for Everybody
27.MGMT- Congratulations
28.Delphic- Acolyte
29.Hooverphonic- The Night Before
30.We Have Band- WHB

Saturday, December 18, 2010

The Human League- Night People Vid

As already reported, the Human League have released their first single "Night People" from the upcoming album 'Credo'. The song is available as a remix version through http://www.thehumanleague.co.ukand on iTunes. Don't miss the official music video.

Friday, December 17, 2010

Shriekback- Life in The Loading Bay

The British post punk dance band Shriekback have returned with a new album, three years after their last record release "Glory Bumps" in 2007. Their 12th studio album 'Life on a Loading Bay' was recorded by the original line up and it celebrates the approaching 30th anniversary of the band. The album is out on 'Malicious Damage' label and as it is reported that it is carrying a similar devilish, panoramic world-view to Nick Cave’s Bad Seeds and that it is reaching back to folk music forms or film noir soundtracks.


WAW: School of Seven Bells- ILU

Sensual Harassment's Alpha Draconis

Sensual Harassment are back with their debut EP. After releasing several singles during this Autumn, they have completed their album EP 'Alpha Draconis' which includes all the previously released singles as well their latest song "Russian Dolls", a post rock crossover between Walkmen and Echo & The Bunnymen. The EP is available both as a stream and free download from their official page. 
Check out www.sensualharassment.com for additional information.

Friday, December 10, 2010

Duran Duran- All You Need is Now- Out

The first single from the upcoming Duran Duran album 'All You Need Is Now' is available on the iTunes Store. The vibrant video for this title track is set for release on iTunes on December 21, 2010. It was shot in and around London and was helmed by celebrated director Nick Egan, whose previous work includes Duran Duran’s "White Lines" and "Ordinary World" videos.
The album (cover artwork below) is out on December 21, 2010.


Blancmange News

Almost 25 years after the release of their last studio album in 1985, Blancmange will retunrn to the music scene with the brand new album which is due to be released on March 7, 2011. The album is called 'Blanc Burn' and it will be supported by a small tour in the UK. The first track from the album is available as a free download here.

Ticket info

Tuesday, December 7, 2010

Next Wave: Northern Portarit

Northern Portrait is an indie pop group which was formed in Copenhagen, Denmark in the summer of 2007. The band consists of Rune Reholt, Caspar Bock Sørensen, Stefan Larsen, Jesper Bonde and Michael Sørensen. Northern Portrait is a band who’s raison d’être is the making of sophisticated pop music. The band lists a few 80’s bands among the influences including Echo And The Bunnymen and The Housemartins and most important of all, the new celebration of the Smiths.
Their debut album 'Criminal Art Lovers' has been released this year.


Monday, December 6, 2010

Joy Division for a new Generation

Rhino Records UK / Warner Music are proud to announce the release of '+ -" (plus minus) - a unique Joy Division retrospective box set consisting of 10 7" singles on vinyl presented in a beautiful clamshell box. All tracks have been newly re-mastered from original tapes by Stephen Morris and Frank Arkwright with creative direction for '+ -" box set artwork coming from Peter Saville and Studio Parris Wakefield.
Compiled by renowned journalist and author Jon Savage, the boxset is released in celebration of Ian Curtis - in the year that is the 30th anniversary of his death. +- includes 7"'s which have previously been issued and some which have been created specifically for this release.