Tuesday, August 30, 2011

Reissue: Shriekback- Oil and Gold

Cherry Red have released 'Oil & Gold', the third full-length Shriekback album, which is widely considered the band's best. The album was originally released in 1985 on Island Records and saw the band metamorphose from contemplative to rocking. This enhanced edition comes with a newly remastered bonus disc for B-Sides for the first time on CD, as well as a enhanced booklet with new notes.


Next Wave: Claps

Claps are St. Paul Minnesota trio who play exclusively analog synthesizers and provide a dark view into the world of minimal synth-pop. The analog instruments used on their records create a sound that may be reminiscent of the late 70's early 80's minimal synth and synth pop movements. Their second EP 'New Science' is more than just an homage to minimal synth; It's a modern yet classic take on the genre. They released their debut album 'Wreck' this August and  "Across The Floor", a song from the album is available on their site.


Sunday, August 28, 2011

Erasure- Tomorrow's World

Erasure have announced details about their new album which is set for release on October 3rd. The album will be called 'Tomorrow's World' and it will be available as as a regular CD & download and a special deluxe CD. Their new single 'When I Start To (Break It All Down)' will be available on September 26th, with a single-track download being made available on August 29th.Like all the essential Erasure releases, their new material is released on Mute.

Friday, August 26, 2011

80's Duets: Bronski Beat & Marc Almond

Bronski Beat who had huge international success with "Smalltown Boy" in 1984 were joined by Marc Almond, a year later and released their own version of Donna Summer's classic "I Feel Love". The full version of the song also featured parts of "Love to Love You Baby" and John Leyton's "Johnny Remember Me". It was a success and reached #3 in the UK.

Bronski Beat et Marc Almond "I feel love" 1985 by odilederey

Thursday, August 25, 2011

The Waterboys- An Appointment With Mr Yeats

The long-awaited new Waterboys album 'An Appointment With Mr Yeats' will be released across Europe by Proper Records on September 19th. North American release will follow in 2012. The album was produced by Mike Scott and Waterboys' bassist Marc Arciero, and contains 14 new songs created from the lyrics of Ireland's greatest poet, WB Yeats. The first single from the album, "Sweet Dancer" is available for download NOW from iTunes. 


Model Worker- Modern Luxury

Model Worker have released another great EP this summer. Their brand new EP is entitled 'Modern Luxury' and features three tracks which take you to a sonic trip through early 80's synth funk in a sea of neon lights. 'Modern Luxury' is available as a free download via www.model-worker.com.

Wednesday, August 24, 2011

Instant Hit: Furniture- One Step Behind You

"One Step Behind You" was the last single release for Furniture and the last record the band released. The song was released in 1990, both as 7" and 12" inch single on Arista. Three years, in 1993, later the song was covered by Marian Gold of Alphaville.

WAW: Processory- Trickle Down

From the recent Jori Hulkkonen collaboration with Jerry Valuri, here comes "Trickle Down", one of the leading tracks on the new Processory album 'Change is Gradual' released this summer.


Tuesday, August 23, 2011


'Konnecting...' is a new Mute compilation which will be released later this month. This 15 track compilation of electro-pop brings together for the first time the works and three guises of electronic pioneers David Baker and Simon Leonard - I Start Counting, Fortran 5, Komputer. 'Konnecting...' tracks the duo’s output from the first Mute release, "Letters To A Friend"  (I Start Counting, 1984), through to the club hit, "Heart On The Line" (Fortran 5) to the very British electronic pop/folk music of "Headphones And Ringtones" and "Like A Bird", from Komputer’s 2007 release, 'Synthetik'. The release of 'Konnecting...' celebrates the duo's revisiting of their previous incarnations in the live set, and looks forward to a forthcoming Komputer release.

Monday, August 22, 2011

Terminal Twilight- House of Love

Earlier this month Terminal Twilight who were already featured on this blog have released their debut full length album 'House of Love'. The Los Angeles based duo recorded this LP in their own studio and it features vintage synthesizers and analog processors, the sound they like to call 'Teardrop Electro'. Two of the previously released songs, "The Fire of Love" and "Air", are featured on the album, but this time in a new arrangement. The album was released on August 2nd on Infinite Soundtracks and it is available as Vinyl LP/ Digital. For more info check out www.infinitesoundtracks.com

Sunday, August 21, 2011

Summer Singles Highlights

The long summer break is over. We are so glad to be back! Before we start with news here are few singles highlights which were released this summer. 
The Human League are back with probably the best song from the album 'Credo' called "Sky" and the release features several remixes of the song. Bjork and Feist are both back five years after their last album releases. Bjork has released "The Crystaline Series" which features 3 CD singles and four 12" vinyl remixes, all released during this summer. Feist's song "How Come You Never Go There" announces the new album by the singer which will be released this autumn. M83 returned with a new single "Midnight City" and the good news is that the new  double album 'Hurry Up, We're Dreaming' is going to be released in October... 

...The new album by Ladytron 'Gravity The Seducer' will be released in less than a month and the fourth single from it takes the title 'Mirage' and it was released on August 9th. Future Islands successfully returned with "Before The Bridge" this July and as most of the bands mentioned here, their new album is going to be released in October. Blondie are back with a wonderful second single from the album called "What I Heard". And last but not least, "Brittle Heart", new single by Brett Anderson, released on August 15th, new album also coming up!