Saturday, May 31, 2008

The Fall- Imperial Wax Solvent

'Imperial Wax Solvent' is a studio album by The Fall - the band's 27th - released in the UK on April 28th, 2008. The album features a new British-based lineup after the departures of the American musicians involved in writing and performing 2007's Reformation Post TLC - Mark E. Smith, keyboardist Elena Poulou and bassist Dave Spurr remain from the previous incarnation. They are joined by guitarist Pete Greenway (a guest guitarist on the previous album) and drummer Keiron Melling.

Instant Hit: Bagarre- Lemonsweet

"Lemonsweet" was a the first single by Baggare which was released on several labels in 1982. The song appeared as 7", 12" and as 7" disco version and it was also the first track on their debut album 'Circus'. Most of the songs from the album including "Lemonsweet" were produced by G.Ricoveri. 

Sunday, May 25, 2008

Cyndi Lauper- Bring Ya To The Brink

'Bring Ya to the Brink' is Cyndi Lauper's tenth studio album and is to be released on May 27, 2008. The first single from the album is "Same Ol' Story". Lauper visited England and France during early 2007 where she wrote songs with dance artists such as Basement Jaxx, Digital Dog, Dragonette, Kleerup and Richard Morel. A song Lauper recorded with Basement Jaxx titled "I'm from New York" was available to stream from the band's MySpace profile and is rumoured to be included on their forthcoming fifth studio album. "Into the Nightlife" is expected to be released as the album's second single.

Saturday, May 24, 2008

Next Wave: Santogold

Santogold is American artists, songwriter and producer who has recently released the self titled debut album. As she said her music is influenced by many diverse 80's music styles including New wave, Ska, Dub and Punk rock. She has made a point of not performing R&B or rap like other "brown girls”. “I'm A Lady” is a pop song that reminds of a great song from the mid 80's.

Santogold MySpace

Friday, May 23, 2008


The Comateens were originally a New Wave duo formed in 1978 in New York City by bassist/vocalist Nic North and guitarist Ramona Jan. Soon after, Lyn Byrd joined on vocals and synthesizer, and the duo became a trio. When Jan departed in 1980, North's brother Oliver joined on guitar, completing the final lineup. The band was one of the first in the world to record solely with a drum machine, joining the ranks of the burgeoning electro-pop avantgarde along with bands such as Suicide, Kraftwerk and Soft Cell.

This New York trio played a bouncy brand of dance rock rooted in chintzy '60s Farfisa organ pop and spooky horror movie soundtrack music. The group first gained recognition in 1979 with a homemade single that featured a stripped- down version of Bowie's "TVC 15," which they re-recorded for their first LP. They contributed two tracks to the influential Marty Thau Presents 2x5 compilation and their debut album, the self-titled Comateens, (1980) featured the band's bizarrely original compositions alongside covers of "Summer in the City" (The Lovin' Spoonful), "TVC 15" (David Bowie), and the theme song from TV's The Munsters.

After they were signed to Virgin Records they released the second album, 'Pictures On A String' which diverges into rock quirkiness and danceable commercialism, pushing a powerful disco beat on "Get off My Case" "Cinnamon" and other numbers. In 1984 the band released their final album, 'Deal with It', which featured live drums played by Chuck Sabo. The band also rode the New Wave by appearing on the then new and innovative MTV in several videos, and in interviews with pioneer VJs Mark Goodman and Martha Quinn.

The band split up in 1985. Oliver North died in 1987 of asthma-related heart failure. In 1988 Nic North (now Nicholas West) and Lyn Byrd recorded an album, West & Byrd, together. In 1990 the duo, again under the name Comateens, recorded the song "A Place For Me" which became a European hit. Virgin Records released a retrospective compilation of their music in 1991 called "One By One: Best Of Comateens" which has become a rare and much sought-after record among collectors of New Wave music.

Sunday, May 18, 2008

Sparks- Exotic Creatures Of The Deep

'Exotic Creatures of the Deep' is the twenty-first album by Sparks which is going to be released on May, 19th. It is to be preceded by the single "Good Morning" on May, 12th 2008. The album is to be promoted by a record-setting twenty-one date residency from May 16 to June 13 at London's Carling Islington Academy. The group plan to play each one of their twenty-one albums. 'Exotic Creatures Of The Deep' will be premiered on the final night at London's Shepherd's Bush Empire.

Saturday, May 17, 2008

The Cure- The Only One

Earlier this week the new single has been released by the Cure. This is their first single in three years and it features an A-side and B-sides and it is entitled "The Only One". Another single "Freakshow" will follow in June and the new album is set to be released in September.

Friday, May 16, 2008

WAW: Goldfrapp- Happines

Tuesday, May 13, 2008

Instant Hit: Blue Orchid- The Flood

"The Flood" was a debut release for the Manchester group Blue Orchid which was released in 1981 on Rough Trade (UK). This was a double A side record which also featured the song "Disney Days". This song had a some psychedelic touch, mixing with post punk sound.

Sunday, May 11, 2008

Gang Of Four Minus Two

The original and best-loved line-up of famed post-punk icons Gang of Four reunited in 2005 to great acclaim and success - unfortunately all good things must come to an end. Bassist Dave Allen and drummer Hugo Burnham are moving on, although singer Jon King and guitar-player Andy Gill will continue, focusing on writing and recording new music as Gang of Four. Burnham last performed with the band at All Tomorrow’s Parties in the UK in December 2006, while Allen played a few shows alongside drummer Mark Heaney in 2007, and recently worked on new material with King and Gill.

Saturday, May 10, 2008

Yazoo's Reconnected Tour Inteview

Earlier this year Yazoo announced that they will reunite for some tour dates. This is an interview where Vince Clark and Alison Moyet talk about Yazoo and the Reconnected tour 2008.

Sunday, May 4, 2008

ABC- Traffic

ABC have released the new album 'Traffic' on 28th of April this year. The album is released on the label Borough Music and it is available on their official website. The first single "The Very First Time" has been released as a download in March and can be downloaded from 7Digital.

1. Sixteen Seconds To Choose
2. The Very First Time
3. Ride
4. Love Is Strong
5. Caroline
6. Life Shapes You
7. One Way Traffic
8. Way Back When
9. Validation
10. Lose Yourself
11. Fugitives
12. Minus Love

The album will be available around the World later this year. ABC will be touring Europe, Australia and the USA during 2008, so we will be making sure the album is out for each of these tours.

ABC & Martin Fry live shows:

May 9th, 2008, Nottingham
May 10th, 2008, Glasgow
May 13th, 2008, Manchester
May 14th, 2008, Liverpool
May 15th, 2008, Brighton
May 16th, 2008, London
May 17th, 2008, Birmingham
May 18th, 2008, Newcastle
August 1st, 2008, Phoenix (US)