Tuesday, July 4, 2017

Bronski Beat to Release the 'The Age of Consent' for a new Generation

Bronski Beat's founding member Steve Gronski has teamed up with singer Stephen Granville for an expanded reworking of 'The Age Of Consent'. The reworked version will be entitled 'The Age Of Reason' and will include reworked version of most of the songs from the original album plus three brand new tracks. The Age Of Reason comes seven months after original keyboardist Larry Steinbachek died. The original lead singer Jimmy Somerville left the band in 1985 and formed a partnership with Richard Cole as the Communards. After they disbanded he has enjoyed a successful solo career. The Age Of Reason will be released on 28 July 2017. 


Blogger Widgets

Wednesday, June 28, 2017

Retrovision: Jyl- Mechanic Ballerina

Even today in the era of reissues and remasters this act remains quite enigmatic. The project was fronted by by American female vocalist Jyl Porch while the production matters remained in the hands of Ingo Werner. The video is produced by Joachim Ballon and features footage of Jyl from 1985. The song was featured on Jyl's only album released in 1984.


Instant Hit: A.T.R.O.X.- Overture to the Tales

"Overture to the Tales" was the opening track from the second album by the Italian minimal wave act A.T.R.O.X. Like this tune, the album included eleven other tracks, in which the band explored synthetic electronic sound with a superb experimental vein. The album from which the singles was taken was titled 'Water Tales' and was originally released in 1984 and reissued in 2015. 

Saturday, June 3, 2017

Next Wave: Albertus Cabinet

In this Next wave feature we are taking a small trip to Argentina as our next duo is from Buenos Aires. They perform under quite enigmatic name Albertus Cabinet and consist of Juan Ruso and Roberto Massoni. To this date, they have released one EP in 2016 and this year saw the release of their debut album 'The Visible or Invisible' with nine new tracks. Their music is sort of ambiental electronic experiment exploring the atmosphere and darkness of space. Our preference track from the album are "Statistics, I Don't Feel Special" and "It Saves My Life". As for now the album is available on Bandcamp mp3 and FLAC. Hope you enjoy! 

Thursday, June 1, 2017

Tuxedo Gleam Release New Album

California based minimal synth-pop duo have released a new studio album titled 'Subtleties' in April this year. The album contains ten brand new tracks including "Decay", the first single to be taken from the album. The band is just continuing with what they have started with their first releases in 2013. Their music is synthetic, cold and very dynamic. Aunt Gleam and Angel Marie are responsible for the whole music arrangements and the visuals. The album is available here

Monday, May 22, 2017

WAW: Chromatics- Shadows

Chromatics are back with a brand new release titled "Shadow". In the context of the return of Twin Peaks, after 25 years and the launching of Season 3, it pay tribute to the legendary Julie Cruise. In line with that Johnny Jewel has released 'Windswept'. It's atmospheric and dreamy, and fees like he is paying homage to the Angelo Badalamenti TV-soundtracks.

Thursday, May 18, 2017

Swing Set's Second Album Reissue on Blackberry Way Records

Blackberry Way Records have announced the reissue of Swing Set’s second album ‘The Soul Remains’. The album was originally released on Blackberry Way Records in 1990 and garnered airplay and reviews around the world. Twenty seven years after the original release this great blend of Guitar pop/rock with a wonderful lead track "Dreamin' You" will be reissued. There are also rumors of a possible follow up release with new songs. To see more about this and other exciting releases, please follow the link below. 


Wednesday, May 17, 2017

Schonwald Announce their Fourth Studio Album

Schonwald have announced their fourth studio album 'Night Idyll' to be released on June 1st via Manic Depression Records. The Italian duo consisting of Alessandra Gismondi and Luca Bandini still focus on a atmospheric and synthetic darkwave sound drawing inspiration from New Order, The Cure, Suicide with guitars echoing My Bloody Valentine and Curve. The new album is now available for pre-order via Bandcamp and the duo have released, “Love Collides” as a preface to their dark sound.

The band is currently touring as part for the promotion for the new album.
May 19 Cueva Rock – Cagliari + Digital Disorder, Uncodified
June 8 Bus Palladium – Paris + Soror Dolorosa
September 8 NCN – Nocturnal Culture Night – Leipzig
November 25 SOUNDFIELDS WAVE – Deinze + Ash Code, She Past Away

Monday, May 15, 2017

OMD Announce New Album for September

OMD have announced the release of a brand new studio album ‘The Punishment of Luxury’. The album will be contain 12 brand new tracks including the possible single "La Mitrailleuse" which is available instantly on Album pre-order. The album will be available in 7 formats and it will be released on September 1st 2017. The band will also be heading out on tour in support of the album later in the year. Tickets go on sale on Friday 19th May.

Monday, May 8, 2017

Instant Hit: Rive Gauche- Friends Are Friends

Rive Gauche was a short lived minimal-synth duo from Belgium who only released one single during their brief existence in the mid-80’s. Both songs on the recorded featured the singer Carol who also released “Breakdown” in 1981 (featured here) and who later made appearance on the cover of this song by Snowy Red.The song “Friends are Friends”/ alt."Friends and Friends" was also featured on ‘A Tribute to Some Bizarre Vol.12’ compilation which was released unofficially.

Also featured here.