Monday, August 19, 2013

WAW: Soft Metals- Lenses

Soft Metals have revealed a brand new video for their song "Lenses" which is taken from their current album of the same name. The video was co-directed by Eva Aguila and Patricia Hall and features a 3D Projection Mapping by Akiko Yamashita.

Next Wave: Daybed

Daybed is Carla (U.S.A) and Tim (New Zealand). Together they formed Daybed in 2010. Sharing their love to 80's music they started to create their own synthwave experiments. The duo is currently based in Berlin which also influenced their music a lot. To this date they have released one EP entitled 'Preludes' which combines the best in Minimal Synth and Coldwave. Their songs appeared on several compilations including Future Echo's Tape One. The duo is working on a new material and new releases might hit us soon.

Thursday, August 15, 2013

Bananarama Box Set to be Released in September

Edsel Records will reissue eighties girl group Bananarama‘s first six albums on 30 September 2013. There are still no official announcements from Edsel, but according to Amazon UK, the box set will be released on September 30, 2013. The series of deluxe editions starts with their debut – 1983′s 'Deep Sea Skiving' – and works through to the post Siobhan Fahey era, with 1991′s 'Pop Life' (featuring Jacquie O’Sullivan) and 'Please Yourself' from 1993 when Bananarama became a duo (Sara Dallin and Keren Woodward).

Fiction Factory's Debut to be Reissued on Cherry Red

Cherry Red has announced the re-release of Fiction Factory's debut album 'Throw The Warped Wheel Out'. The album was originally released in 1984 and featured their biggest hit "(Feels Like) Heaven" which peaked at #6 in the UK singles chart in 1983. This reissue comes as a special edition and contains ten tracks from the original album plus nine essential bonus tracks. The bonus tracks on this release appear on CD for the first time in the UK except "I Who Know You". The CD booklet will feature many of the original sleeves and a full UK discography. Out on September 23rd.

Friday, August 2, 2013

WAW: Midnight Juggernauts - Memorium

"Memorium" is the new single from Midnight Juggernauts upcoming album 'Uncanny Valley'. The video for the song is a Hybrid art/technology piece visually documenting the evolution of Computer Generated Imagery. Contemplating this subject of early digital footprints of technology, the band realized it reflected similar themes to their song "Memorium". They each recount a tracing through discarded remnants of the past. It seemed logical to combine the two pieces, and so this visual homage was created.

A Certain Ratio's- I'd Like To See You Again out on Factory Benelux

Factory Benelux has released a new CD edition of 'I'd Like To See You Again', the third studio album by Manchester postpunk funk group A Certain Ratio, originally released by Factory Records in October 1982. 'I'd Like To See You Again' was the last Ratio album to feature the original quintet of Donald Johnson, Jeremy Kerr, Martin Moscrop, Simon Topping and Peter Terrell, and saw the band move from the ethereal textures of Sextet towards a more stripped-down sound, influenced by the Latin and electrofunk scene in New York. 
 This remastered CD features 5 bonus tracks, including the 7" and 12" versions of dancefloor classic "Knife Slits Water", flipside "Tumba Rhumba", an exclusive remix of "Guess Who", and underrated single "I Need Someone Tonite", issued in 1983 and the first Ratio record to feature keys player Andy Connell.

1. Touch
2. Saturn
3. Hot Knights
4. I'd Like To See You Again
5. Show Case
6. Sesamo Apriti – Corco Vada
7. Axis 8. Guess Who
9. Knife Slits Water (7" version)
10. Tumba Rhumba
11. I Need Someone Tonite
12. Guess Who (Remix)